Free Images and Stock Photos

Wikimedia Commons - http://commons.wikimedia.org/
Stock.XCHNG - http://www.sxc.hu/
Public Domain Photo Database - http://pdphoto.org/
Free Royalty Free Stock Photography - http://www.adigitaldreamer.com/gallery/
Free Stock Photos - http://www.freestockphotos.com/
Free Foto - http://www.freefoto.com/
Pics4Learning - http://www.pics4learning.com/
Flickr - http://www.flickr.com/ (be sure to check permissions which are set by each photographer)
Pixel Perfect Digital - http://www.pixelperfectdigital.com/free_stock_photos/

Free Sound Clips

Free Audio Clips - http://www.freeaudioclips.com/
A1 Free Sound Effects - http://www.a1freesoundeffects.com/
Free Sound Clips and Music Downloads - http://www.brainybetty.com/soundsforpowerpoint.htm
Free Sound Effects - http://stonewashed.net/sfx.html (links to 59 free audio clips' sites)

Digital Storytelling Websites

Center for Digital Storytelling http://www.storycenter.org/
CDS Cookbook http://www.storycenter.org/cookbook.pdf
Visible Knowledge Project, Georgetown University, Rena Benmayor Digital Storytelling Poster http://tinyurl.com/2sv8b4
BBC Capture Wales http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/capturewales/
The Elements of Digital Storytelling, University of Minnesota http://www.inms.umn.edu/elements/
Digital Clubhouse NYC http://www.digiclubnyc.org/
NPR Story Corps http://storycorps.net/
NPR Radio Diaries http://www.radiodiaries.org/
Digitales http://www.digitales.us/
Tech Head Digital Stories Web Links http://www.tech-head.com/dstory.htm
Canadian Storytelling Center http://www.storycenter.org/canada/index.html

Articles - Digital Storytelling

Banaszewski, Tom.  "Storytelling Finds Its Place in the Classroom."  www.infotoday.com/MMSchools/jan02/banaszewski.htm
"Story-Time Blues"  "The Use of Story to Create Learning and Community." www.goodshare.org/storyblu.htm
Mamie Marcuss. "The New Community Anthology:  Digital Storytelling." www.bos.frb.org/commdev/c&b/2003/fall/digital.pdf

Copyright Issues with Digital Storytelling
[from DigiTales:  The Art of Telling Digital Stories by Bernajean Porter (2004)]

David Warlick's Citation Machine www.landmark-project.com
Stanford's University Fair Use Libraries http://fairuse.stanford.edu

LaGuardia Faculty Websites

Erica Heppner's Websites http://faculty.lagcc.cuny.edu/eheppner
Liz Iannotti's Websites http://faculty.lagcc.cuny.edu/eiannotti

LaGuardia Center for Teaching and Learning

Designed For Learning http://www.lagcc.cuny.edu/ctl/dfl/default.htm
Designed for Learning Sampler http://www.lagcc.cuny.edu/ctl/dfl/sampler/
STM Program at LaGuardia http://www.laguardia.edu/stm/

Print Resources

Tutorial

Digital Storytelling with Windows Movie Maker

DST Seminar

Storyboard Worksheet

Books - Digital Storytelling

Joyce, Michael. Of Two Minds: Hypertext Pedagogy and Poetics. Ann Arbor, University of Michigan Press, 1996.
Lambert, Joe. Digital Storytelling: Capturing Lives, Creating Community. Berkeley, Digital Diner Press, 2002.
Laurel, Brenda. Computers as Theater. Menlo Park: Addison-Wesley, 1993.
Sloane, Sarah. Digital Fictions: Storytelling in a Material World. New York, Ablex Corp., 2000.
Turkle, Sherry. Life on the Screen: Identity in the Age of the Internet. New York: Touchstone, 1997.

General Storytelling and/or Public Speaking

Cassady, Marsh. The Art of Storytelling: Creative Ideas for Preparations and Perfomance. Colorado Springs: Meriwether Publishing, 1994.
Davis, Donald. Telling Your Own Stories. Little Rock, AR: August House Publishing, 1993.
Mooney, Bill and David Holt. The Storyteller’s Guide. Little Rock, AR: August House Publishers, 1996.
Robbins, Jo. High Impact Presentations: A Multimedia Approach. New York: John Wiley and Sons, 1997.